Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


The Singing Continent, op. 81 : a festival divertimento based on traditional Australian melodies, for orchestra

by Paul Paviour (1988)

Work Details

Year: 1988

Instrumentation: 2 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets, 2 tenor trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (3 players), piano, harp, strings.

Duration: 9 min.

Dedication note: "Dedicated to Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II"

Commission note: "Written at the request of the Prime Minister and Cabinet of the Commonwealth of Australia for the opening of the permanent Houses of Parliament, May 9, 1988"

First performance: by Australian Youth Orchestra, John Hopkins — 9 May 88. Great Hall, Parliament House, Canberra


Performances of this work

9 May 88: Great Hall, Parliament House, Canberra. Featuring Australian Youth Orchestra, John Hopkins.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.