Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Eight inventions : for solo piano

by John Polglase (2013)

Eight inventions


Add to cart


Eight inventions : for solo piano / John Polglase.

Library shelf no. 786.2/POL 24 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Eight pieces of varying character in free fugal style. Each utilises a different interval for the imitative exposition; unison, second, third, etc up to imitation at the octave. Each has a subject and countersubject and is developed contrapuntally. Some have multiple subject material as double fugues.

Work Details

Year: 2013

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 24 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: No.1 All’ Unisuono, Inverso (2’15”) -- No.2 Alla Seconda (2’30”) -- No.3 Alla Terza (2’35”) -- No.4 Alla Quarta (3’20”) -- No.5 Alla Quinta (2’15”) -- No.6 Alla Sesta (2’50”) -- No.7 Alla Settima (3’05”) -- No.8 All’ Ottava (3’35”).

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.