Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Australian folksong suite, op. 43 : for concert band

by Martin Rutherford (1988)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (2 more)

Australian folksong suite, opus 43a


Add to cart


Australian folksong suite, opus 43a : for concert band / Martin Rutherford.

Library shelf no. 784.83/RUT 1 [Available for loan]

Australian folksong suite, opus 43a


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Display all products featuring this work (2 more)  

Work Details

Year: 1988

Instrumentation: Flute, oboe, 3 clarinets in B flat, alto clarinet, bass clarinet, bassoon, 2 alto saxophones, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, 3 trumpets in B flat, 2 horns in F, 3 trombones, baritone, tuba, timpani, percussion (4 players).

Duration: 13 min.

Difficulty: Medium — AMEB Grade 4-7.

Contents note: 1. Frank Gardiner, Five and a zack -- 2. The shearer's dream, My name is Ben Hall -- 3. Billy Sheehan, The Queensland drover.

Commission note: Commissioned with funds provided by Australian Bicentennial Authority.. Commissioned by Victorian Bands League for 1988 Australian Bicentennial.

First performance: by Victorian State Youth Brass Band, Martin Rutherford — Jan 88. Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne

In 2012 the score was revised for performance by the Kuala Lumpur Symphonic Band.


Performances of this work

Aug 91: Portarlington, Victoria. Featuring Victorian Concert Orchestra.

Jan 88: Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne. Featuring Victorian State Youth Brass Band, Martin Rutherford.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.