Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Concerto for cello and strings : cello with piano

by Paul Sarcich (2001)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Concerto for cello and strings


Add to cart

Score & Part

Concerto for cello and strings : piano reduction / Paul Sarcich.

Library shelf no. 787.4/SAR 2 [Available for loan]

Concerto for cello and strings


Add to cart


Concerto for cello and strings / Paul Sarcich.

Version: This product features the Cello with string orchestra version of this work

Library shelf no. 784.7174/SAR 1 [Available for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

This concerto contains no programmatic associations, but is a working-out of purely musical ideas, cast in a form of two impassioned debates set around a meditation.

The first movement opens with the cello laying out some material which will be developed in the course of the whole piece. A brief cadenza-like section for the solo cello leads to a fugato buildup for the orchestra into an extended development section. Textures and tempi change, but the entire movement is a discussion of the opening material, with a more extended solo cadenza before the end.

The second movement requires the soloist to play over an almost continuous drone on an open string, while the orchestra weaves meandering counterpoint around the solo lines. A central climactic section takes places over the open string drones of the orchestral celli and basses, before the movement dies away by progressing backwards to the opening.

The third movement contrasts vigorous rhythmic work, including propulsive "scrubbing" from the strings, with a more languid central section which builds to an intense climax before reverting to driving rhythmic work again. These two basic styles are batted back and forth before the movement heads toward its close with a driving recapitulation of the opening of the first movement, with the soloist screaming in glissando over the top. Quick recalls of some of the major ideas from the third movement conclude the piece.

Work Details

Year: 2001

Instrumentation: Cello, piano.

Duration: 26 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: In 3 movements.

Dedication note: For Anna Sarcich


Performances of this work

27 Jul 2014: at Patrimoine (Leederville Town Hall). Featuring Anna Sarcich.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.