Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Phases : suite for orchestra, after paintings by David Alexander Cross

by Paul Sarcich (2010)



Add to cart


Phases : suite for orchestra, after paintings by David Alexander Cross / Paul Sarcich.

Library shelf no. 784.2/SAR 2 [Available for loan]


Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

Based on a series of paintings by David Alexander Cross, themselves painted to the music of Holst, Rautavaara and Birtwistle, this is an exercise in "double translation" between the art forms of music and painting. "Phases" refers to the four phases of matter (the movement titles being Solid, Gas, Plasma, Liquid), an association triggered by the viewing of Cross's paintings which has no reference to the music Cross used to paint to.

Work Details

Year: 2010

Instrumentation: 2 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo), 2 oboes (2nd doubling cor anglais), 2 clarinets (2nd doubling abss clarinet), 2 bassoons, 2 horns in F, percussion (2 players), harp, strings.

Duration: 15 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. Solid (3 min., 35 sec.) -- 2. Gas (4 min., 10 sec.) -- 3. Plasma (3 min., 40 sec.) -- 4. Liquid (4 min.).

Dedication note: Dedicated to David Alexander Cross


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.