Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String Quartet No. 4 : Dark Fire

by John Spence (2020)

Also known as: String Quartet No. 4

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

This is a commemorative work honouring those who defended their communities in the 2019/20 bushfires and in particular, the memory of those who lost their lives. The music captures their story, depicting the sadness, fear, anger and frustration that the nation felt as a whole.

Work Details

Year: 2020

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 14 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Professional

Contents note: I. Fire Clouds -- II. Out of Control -- III. Scorched Earth.

Dedication note: Dedicated to the memory of those that perished in the Australian bushfires during the summer of 2019/2020

Commission note: Commissioned by Steel City Strings.. Commissioned by Steel City Strings.

First performance: by Steel City Strings at Isolation Strings by Steel City Strings (Live streaming event (online only)) on 19 Jul 2020

Performances of this work

19 Jul 2020: at Isolation Strings by Steel City Strings (Live streaming event (online only)). Featuring Steel City Strings.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.