Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Piano Sonata No. 4 (solo piano)

by Carl Vine (2019)

Work Overview

This work comprises three movements performed without a break. The first, Aphorisms, is a string of concise, linked but contrasting musical ideas which don't need to be part of a larger argument, coexisting in common isolation. The second, Reflection, is generally softer and slower with meditative moments perturbed by darker material. The final movement, Fury, portrays relentless and unfocussed anger that, even when catching its breath, wastes little time before reverting to unbending belligerence.

Work Details

Year: 2019

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 15 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. Aphorisms -- 2. Reflection -- 3. Fury

Commission note: Commissioned by Lindsay Garritson.

First performance: by Lindsay Garritson — 11 Nov 19. Weill Recital Hall, Carnegie Hall, New York


Performances of this work

28 Jan 20: Royal College of Music, London. Featuring Lindsay Garritson.

11 Nov 19: Weill Recital Hall, Carnegie Hall, New York. Featuring Lindsay Garritson.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.