Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

10 November 2016

2016 Melbourne Prize: Kutcha Edwards, Kate Neal, Scott Tinkler, Matthias Schack-Arnott

Kate Neal at the 2016 Art Music Awards Image: Kate Neal at the 2016 Art Music Awards  

AMC's Represented composer Kate Neal has won the inaugural $25,000 Beleura Award for Composition, announced yesterday as part of the Melbourne Prize for Music and Awards. The Award recognises 'a composition of outstanding musicianship, skill and creativity' and was granted for her composition Semaphore - also the winner of the 2016 Art Music Award for the Instrumental Work of the Year. A 60-minute mixed media work (music, dance, light, theatre) for three dancers and nine musicians, Semaphore explores and abstracts encoded methods of communication and signalling.

The main Award, the $60,000 Melbourne Prize for Music went to singer-songwriter Kutcha Edwards in recognition of his outstanding contribution to Australian music and for enriching cultural and public life. Edwards was also awarded the inaugural $20,000 Distinguished Musician's Fellowship 2016.

Composer, improviser and trumpeter Scott Tinkler is the recipient of the $30,000 Outstanding Musicians Award 2016 for his recent work Whale. Whale is a solo project that explores rhythm and sound in a highly energetic and exposed environment, stretching the world of solo trumpet to new areas of expressions of sound.

Percussionist and composer Matthias Schack-Arnott was announced as the recipient of the $16,000 Development Award, which is awarded to an emerging musician or group of musicians, aged 30 years and under, who demonstrate outstanding musical talent with the potential to develop their professional career.

The $4,000 Civic Choice Award 2016 will be awarded to a finalist (across all awards categories) who receives the highest number of public votes. The winner will be announced on 25 November - you can vote online here; make sure to do it before 5pm on 21 November. In addition to the artists mentioned above, finalists in various categories include AMC-represented artists Chris Dench, Mary Finsterer, James Hullick, Andrea Keller, Liza Lm, Anthony Pateras, and many others.

Launched in 2004, the Melbourne Prize Trust was established to recognise and reward talent, excellence and inspire creative development.

> For more details about Award recipients, finalists, the judging panel and the Melbourne Prize Trust, please see the Melbourne Prize website.

> Vote for the Civic Choice Award (deadline 21 November at 5pm)


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.