Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Elizabeth Younan : Associate Artist

Photo of Elizabeth Younan


Elizabeth Younan (b. 1994) is currently completing a Master of Music (Composition) degree at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music under the tutelage of Carl Vine AO, with the assistance of the Australian Postgraduate Award. As one of four participants of the Sydney Conservatorium's inaugural National Women Composers' Development Program, Elizabeth has had the opportunity to compose for renowned musicians Alice Giles and Virginia Taylor, the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Claire Edwardes, the Goldner String Quartet, and Sydney Philharmonia Choirs, among others.

Elizabeth's woodwind quintet Shoreditch Grind (2015) received its international premiere at the inaugural 2016 BBC Proms Australia Chamber Music concert series. Performed by Musica Viva Australia's 'Future Makers' ensemble, Arcadia Winds, they have also performed the work at Musica Viva's 2017 Festival and as part of its Melbourne Coffee Concert series. Shoreditch Grind has also been performed by Quintet Attacca in Chicago, having won their inaugural international call for scores. Elizabeth's string quartet Interwoven (2016) was also premiered by the Goldner String Quartet at Musica Viva's Sydney Coffee Concert series.

In 2015 Elizabeth completed a Bachelor of Music Composition with First Class Honours at the Sydney Conservatorium, where she was awarded a scholarship with the Australian Research Council for her thesis. Other accolades include the 102.5 Fine Music FM and Willoughby Symphony Young Composer award and premiere performance for her Clarinet Concerto (2016), the Jean Bogan Youth Prize for her set of Five Persian Preludes that were premiered by Australian pianist Michael Kieran Harvey (2014), and the Ignaz Friedman Memorial Prize for academic merit in composition from the Sydney Conservatorium (2014).

Elizabeth has been featured twice in ABC Classic FM's New Waves podcast series, and her music has been broadcast nationally by ABC Classic FM and 102.5 Fine Music, and internationally by BBC Radio.

Elizabeth Younan — current to August 2017