Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

ASO: New Worlds - Milliken


ASO: New Worlds - Milliken

  • Date: Thursday, 26 September 2019 to Friday, 27 September 2019, Thursday - 6:30pm | Friday - 8pm
  • Venue: Adelaide Town Hall — 128 King William St, Adelaide, SA
  • Tickets: Adult: $70 - $120 | Concession: $61 - $105 | Child (2-14yrs): $35 - $50 | 30 and under: $50 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (08) 8233 6226

Event Details

There are many reasons why Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony continues to be a favourite: the melding of Bohemian and American musical influences, the sublime Largo, the dramatic arc linking all four movements. It became an instant hit at its premiere 125 years ago.

Such things can happen at premieres – so don’t miss the new work Weave* by our Composer in Association, Cathy Milliken! Anthony Marwood then brings his customary flair and originality to Schumann’s Violin Concerto, a piece that was hidden away for 80 years by those who feared it presaged something of the composer’s subsequent mental collapse. In fact, it’s delightfully tuneful music, especially the violin and cello dialogue of the slow movement, and its final Polonaise has a beguiling simplicity.

CODA / Thursday night only: After the concert Anthony Marwood and Natsuko Yoshimoto return to the stage to perform Dvořák’s miniatures.

Your concert ticket includes entry to The Mingling Room, a free one hour talk held in the Meeting Hall, located just behind Adelaide Town Hall.

*World Premiere, ASO commission


Cathy Milliken Weave - New Work [World Premiere]

Schumann Violin Concerto

Dvořák Symphony No.9 'From the New World'

Featured non-Australian music: Dvořák, Schumann

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (08) 8233 6233 or by email to aso@aso.com.au

Featured Australian Works

Weave : a chamber concerto for orchestra (2019) [excerpt] by Cathy Milliken — World premiere
— performed by Douglas Boyd and Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login