Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: due to many cancellations, it's important to check with event organisers if events currently in the calendar are taking place. If attending public events, please follow advice regarding washing your hands and exercise social distancing as advised by health authorities.




  • Date: Thursday, 30 August 2018, 6:30pm
  • Venue: National Portrait Gallery — King Edward Terrace, Parkes, ACT
  • Tickets: Adult: $45 | Under 30: $29 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 6262 6772

Event Details

Considering tradition is fundamental for composers when they create new pieces of classical music; just as it is for contemporary visual artists. In this concert for cello and piano, contemporary composers respond with three new and very recent works to historically important pieces of Australian music for these instruments. This concert includes a new arrangement of a work written in 1937 by the pioneering composer Miriam Hyde, who never received the attention she deserved, as well as a newly commissioned work by Canberra composer Leanne Bear.

Presented by Singapore Airlines

Finesse: Contemporary women artists consider Australian history

Julian Smiles Cello
CSO 2018 Artist-in-Focus
Bernadette Harvey Piano


MIRIAM HYDE: Sonata in B minor for viola and piano arranged for cello and piano (1937)
DON BANKS: Sequence for solo cello (1967)
BERNADETTE HARVEY: New work for solo piano
ELLA MACENS: Oh, Sister for cello and piano (2016–17)
LEANNE BEAR: New work (new commission 2018)
CARL VINE: Strutt Sonata for cello and piano (2017)

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by email to tickets@cso.org.au

Featured Australian Works

Sequence : for solo cello (1967) by Don Banks
— performed by Julian Smiles
Sonata in B minor : cello with piano (2018) by Miriam Hyde
— performed by Bernadette Harvey and Julian Smiles
Strutt Sonata : for cello and piano (2017) by Carl Vine
— performed by Bernadette Harvey and Julian Smiles
 Oh, Sister by Ella Macens

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login