Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Scenes of childhood


Scenes of childhood : fourteen piano solos / by Sonny Chua.

  • Published by Midnight Editions — 2001 [0101135440] — 1 score (66p. -- A4 (portrait))
  • Sales Availability: This item is not available to customers outside Australia.
  • Library Availability: 786.2/CHU 11 — Available for loan


This item is not available to customers outside Australia.

Featured Australian works

  Work Composer
Conquering time and space (1992) — solo piano Sonny Chua
Dances (1992) — solo piano Sonny Chua
Fairytales (1992) — solo piano Sonny Chua
Nocturnes (1992) — solo piano Sonny Chua
Scenes of childhood (1992) — solo piano Sonny Chua
Three stooges in C (1992) — solo piano Sonny Chua

Product details

Duration: 30 min.

Contents note: Three stooges in C (contains: Midnight snack ; Around the world in 2 minutes, or less ; Stop that!) -- Nocturnes (contains: The hunt ; Nightwalker ; Dungeon master ; The last voyage) -- Fairytales (contains: Calling ; Vision) ; Conquering time and space (includes Fortress march ; Astral air) -- Dances (contains: Death by pasta ; Yo ho ho & a bottle of rum ; Rodeo).

Individual pieces written 1991 and 1992.

With his Scenes of Childhood, Sonny Chua has given the young (and not so young) player a wealth of highly interesting, challenging and musically stimulating material which is great fun to play, while also being of enormous educational benefit.

The collection provides a compendium of musical styles and pianistic effects, and encourages heightened sensitivity to mood, atmosphere and instrumental colour. Harmonies, rhythms, metric issues and tonal relationships are at once appealing and sophisticated. There is something to delight everyone, and the works cater for different levels of achievment and development. Many complex musical issues are introduced, yet the context is always so engaging that dealing with them probably will not seem like hard work at all!

Includes performance notes by Elizabeth Mitchell.

Piano / Certificate of Performance / List D

  • Rodeo (Scenes of childhood: Fourteen piano solos)

Piano / Grade 3 / List C

  • Midnight Snack from Scenes of Childhood

Piano / Grade 5 / List D

  • around the world in 2 minutes or less from Scenes of Childhood

Piano / Grade 6 / List D

  • yo ho ho and a bottle of rum from Scenes of Childhood

Piano for Leisure / Certificate of Performance / Open Manual list

  • Rodeo from Scenes of childhood

ISBN: 1-86367-417-9

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login