Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Bright birds and sorrows : for soprano saxophone and string quartet

by Ross Edwards (2015)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Details

Year: 2015

Instrumentation: Saxophone, 2 violins, viola, cello, clapping sticks (or claves).

Duration: 25 min.

Contents note: I. Sanctus -- II. Songbird 1 -- III. Lullaby -- IV. Songbird 2 -- V. Lament for the Sacred Earth -- VI. Laughing Dance.

Written for: Amy Dickson

Commission note: Commissioned by Kim Williams.

First performance: by Elias String Quartet, Amy Dickson at Musica Viva: Festival Concert #4 (Verbrugghen Hall) on 22 Apr 2017

Composed especially for the saxophonist Amy Dickson, who premiered it with the Elias String Quartet during the 2017 Musica Viva Festival in Sydney. After the premiere I experimented with some cuts and revisions, resulting in a 2019 version which is now replaced by the present one.

Revised in 2021.


Performances of this work

6 Mar 2021: at Adelaide Festival 2021 - The Hermit of Green Light (UKARIA Cultural Centre). Featuring Flinders Quartet, Michael Duke.

4 Mar 2021: at Adelaide Festival 2021: Pierrot Lunaire - Sex & Madness (Adelaide Town Hall).

3 Aug 2019: at AFCM: Concert Conversations 6 (The Pavilion, the Ville Resort-Casino). Featuring Goldner String Quartet, Amy Dickson.

22 Apr 2017: at Musica Viva: Festival Concert #4 (Verbrugghen Hall). Featuring Elias String Quartet, Amy Dickson.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.