Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Siegfried interlude no. 4 : ride of the (viola) valkyries : viola octet

by Matthew Hindson (1998)

Work Overview

Siegfried Interlude No. 4 was commissioned by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra for first performance at the launch of their 1999 Season. At the time, the SSO viola section was made up exclusively by women, and since the SSO were going to perform Die Walküre the following year, it seemed fitting that an arrangement of one of the best known parts from that opera, The Ride of the Valkyries, was done for this section.

So whilst not technically part of Siegfried, it nevertheless forms part of the Siegfried Interlude series. The arrangement takes into account what sort of things the Valkyries might get up to (i.e. going clubbing) if they were living in the late 20th/early 21st century.

— Matthew Hindson

Work Details

Year: 1998

Instrumentation: 8 violas.

Duration: 4 min.

Commission note: Commissioned by Sydney Symphony.. Commissioned by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra for the launch of their 1999 season

Performances of this work

28 Jun 12: Australian National Academy of Music, Melbourne. Featuring ANAM Musicians.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.