Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


DACCORD : A Diary of Discourse, for guitar, soprano and orchestra

by Cathy Milliken (2018)



This item is available for sale but is currently unable to be purchased online.
Please contact our Sales Department to place an order.


DACCORD : for guitar, soprano and orchestra / Cathy Milliken.

Library shelf no. 784.2787/MIL 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

DACCORD for guitar, soprano and orchestra is the first work of my three-year residency with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra. The two solo voices - guitar and voice - are an intimate combination. The challenge was to investigate how guitar and voice interact and balance with the orchestra. I am interested always in collaborative processes, so negotiation as a dramaturgical element became an essential structural element of the piece. The guitar and soprano become two negotiating voices, the orchestra then their mediators and counsellors- at times, the orchestra mirrors the musical dialogue of the two voices. The guitar is supported in the beginning by the string section and the voice by winds. The guitarist and soprano reveal their characters in these first two sections. Then follows a discourse between the two and the orchestra ending in an ultimate but precarious agreement.

Work Details

Year: 2018

Instrumentation: Guitar, soprano, 2 flutes, piccolo, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets in Bb, 2 bassoons, 4 horns in 4, 2 trumpets in Bb, tuba, timpani, percussion (2 players), harp, strings (min.

Duration: 18 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Adelaide Symphony Orchestra.. Supported by Mary Louise Simpson in honour of her mother, Grace Margaret McArthur

First performance: by Jessica Aszodi, Vladimir Gorbach, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, Benjamin Northey at Guitar Festival Symphony Gala (Adelaide Festival Centre) on 10 Aug 2018

Finalist in Art Music Awards 2019.

Awards & Prizes

Year Award Placing Awarded for/to
2019 Art Music Awards: Work of the Year: Orchestral Finalist Cathy Milliken


Resonate article: 2019 Art Music Awards - what the judges said by Australian Music Centre

Performances of this work

10 Aug 2018: at Guitar Festival Symphony Gala (Adelaide Festival Centre). Featuring Jessica Aszodi, Vladimir Gorbach, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, Benjamin Northey.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.