Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Concerto for Piano and Strings (piano with string orchestra)

by Yitzhak Yedid (2016)

Concerto for Piano and Strings


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.


Concerto for Piano and Strings / Yitzhak Yedid.

Library shelf no. 784.7262/YED 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Concerto for Piano and Strings is a subtle synthesis of musical genres, colours, textures and energies. This composition, like many of my more recent works, was influenced by some tragic events that occurred around the world while I was writing the music. The current human suffering and conflict impacted on me profoundly, and the continuous, unrelenting bloodshed of the civil war in Syria was on my mind throughout the nine months of composing this piece.

The music is introduced to us, the listeners, through the eyes of an observer, as if a mirror is being held in front of us, to reflect and portray the feelings of people who live with deep love but also experience constant unimaginable sorrow and anguish. In a way the piece is a sort of a storytelling, compressing some of the headlights of our time but in fast forward and fast changing perspective. It is a narrative moving abruptly from one musical image to another and conveying differing emotions, oscillating between the mysterious and the exposed, between the passions of love and the coldness of harsh and brutal reality.

Following a clear continuum from my earlier works, this work draws on numerous sources varying from early-music (or, neo-baroque) to avant-garde and from Maqamat (Arabic music modal system) to serialism, and so, I believe polystylism might be the best term to describe the "style" of this work. The (ca.) 20 minutes' duration concerto is in three movements. Each movement contains several sections (musical images). These sections portray encounters, pictures, textures and fascinating confluences of varying cultures and styles - the genre spectrum spans and marries new music with middle-eastern and Jewish inflected styles, and incorporates pristine precise playing with unfettered and freely-roaming musicianship. The concerto's prelude and epilogue - a prayer-like music in C minor - are of compassion and pity.

Concerto for Piano and Strings was composed especially and within consideration of the virtuosity and music-understanding of pianist/composer Michael Kieran Harvey. I would like to thank Michael for the inspiration and musicianship. Also many thanks to Graeme Jennings and Divertimenti string ensemble for their dedication and for giving "life" to my music.

Yitzhak Yedid. Sept 2016

Work Details

Year: 2016

Instrumentation: Solo piano, string orchestra (

Duration: 23 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Michael Kieran Harvey

Commission note: Commissioned by Tel Aviv Soloists Ensemble, Michael Kieran Harvey with funds provided by Australia Council.

First performance: by Michael Kieran Harvey, Divertimenti String Ensemble, Graeme Jennings at Divertimenti: Yedid & Harvey (Ian Hanger Recital Hall) on 6 Oct 2016

Awards & Prizes

Year Award Placing Awarded for/to
2017 Art Music Awards: Performance of the Year Finalist Michael Kieran Harvey for performance at Divertimenti: Yedid & Harvey (Ian Hanger Recital Hall) on 6 Oct 2016


Concerto for Piano and Strings (excerpts)


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.