Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Attic Tragedy : for symphony orchestra

by Melody Eötvös (2008)

Attic Tragedy


Add to cart


Attic Tragedy : for symphony orchestra / by Melody Eötvös.

Library shelf no. 784.2/EOT 2 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

This work is based on the ancient Greek drama called "Attic Tragedy" (Attica was a state in ancient Greece of which Athens was the capital).

It was while reading Nietzsche, in particular The Birth of Tragedy that I discovered this form of ancient theatre existed, and thereafter became intrigued by the dichotomy between Dionysus (nature) and Apollo (rationality) as revealed throughout the dramatic masterpieces of this era.

There are said to be anywhere from four to six 'sections' belonging to the Attic Tragedy form, four of which are illustrated here.

Work Details

Year: 2008

Instrumentation: 2 flutes (1 doubling piccolo), oboe, cor anglais, clarinet in B flat, bass clarinet in B flat, bassoon, contrabassoon, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (2 players), harp, strings (min.

Duration: 7 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I.  Agons (the challenge) -- II.  The Messenger -- III.  Threnos (Lament) -- IV.  Anagnorisis (revelations, discovery).

First performance: by Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra — 2008. TSO Composers School, Hobart

Performances of this work

2008: TSO Composers School, Hobart. Featuring Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.