Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Ignition : For Chamber Orchestra

by May Lyon (2017)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

Ignition is a dedication to my friend Petr who passed away in May 2017. He had an energetic personality, was strong willed, mercurial, and his presence could dominate a room.
He also loved his car: a very noisy, black, 1970s VW Passat.
This piece encapsulates both his love of driving, racing around the dirt roads of Australia and his long relaxing drives, as well as his intelligent, engaging, yet enigmatic character.

All pitch material derived from bell harmonics, relating to the medieval Astronomical Clock (The Prague Orloj) which is close to where Petr was born. Emphasis on the minor 3rd, with the major 3rd in the octave above.

Work Details

Year: 2017

Instrumentation: Flute (doubling piccolo), oboe (doubling cor anglais), clarinet in B flat, bass clarinet in B flat, bassoon (doubling contrabassoon), 2 horns in F, 2 trumpets in B flat, tenor trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (2 players), harp, piano, strings.

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Rhythmically challenging; higher precision required in percussion, brass and woodwind parts.

Contents note: Con Fuoco, Agitato, Leggiero, Furioso, Misterioso con Grazioso, Con Spirito, and Pesante.

Dedication note: Dedicated to the memory of Petr Hanzak.

Commission note: Commissioned by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Cybec Foundation.. Commissioned as part of the 2018 Cybec 21st Century Australian Composers' Program.

First performance: by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Tianyi Lu at Cybec 21st Century Australian Composers Showcase (Iwaki Auditorium) on 21 Feb 2018

Performances of this work

21 Feb 2018: at Cybec 21st Century Australian Composers Showcase (Iwaki Auditorium). Featuring Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Tianyi Lu.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.