Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


O Traurigkeit : cello concerto

by Ian Munro (2006)

O Traurigkeit


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Work Overview

Based on J.S. Bach's four-part setting of the Lutheran chorale of the same name, O Traurigkeit (O Sadness) evokes the spirit of Bach's chorales, and also of his cello suites - the first great works for this queen of string instruments.

The composer writes: 'Bach's practice in his Chorale Preludes for organ was to draw from the hymns a deeper significance, musical and textual, and to weave around it his own florid genius, extending and deepening the sense of the original. What I find most extraordinary is the modest grace in which the most powerful thoughts are expressed, as though the entirety of the Romantic movement were an unnecessary indulgence. Such music has shown itself to be ageless, and speaks to us still with beauty and authority.'

Work Details

Year: 2006

Instrumentation: solo cello, harp, timpani & string orchestra

Duration: 13 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Symphony Australia for performance by Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

First performance: by Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Graham Abbott, Sue-Ellen Paulsen — 10 May 06. Federation Concert Hall, Hobart

Performances of this work

10 May 06: Federation Concert Hall, Hobart. Featuring Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Graham Abbott, Sue-Ellen Paulsen.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.