Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Debajo de la bruma : for pianoforte

by Andrián Pertout (2014)

Also known as: Beneath The Haze

Debajo de la bruma


Add to cart


Debajo de la bruma : for pianoforte / Andrián Pertout.

Library shelf no. 786.2/PER 10 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

'Debajo de la bruma' or 'Beneath the Haze' was especially composed for the Malaysian Composers Collective 2014 'Fifteen Minutes of Fame: Water + Fire' project. The work serves as an exploration of not only the musical implications of the 'butterfly effect' and chaos theory, indeterminacy as an organizational determinant, probability theory and combinatoriality, as well as syncopation (or the art of 'displacement of the regular metrical accent') structurally framed within a quadripartite organizational scheme, but also True Random Number Generators (TRNGs are nondeterministic and aperiodic, and based on atmospheric noise, as opposed to Pseudo-Random Number Generators, or PRNGs, which are deterministic and periodic, and based on algorithms that use mathematical formulae) to make decisions on harmonic and rhythmic colour orderings on the basis of random integer generation. Also incorporated within the compositional framework are the post-tonal harmonic possibilities within the twelve-note chromatic scale as presented by Elliott Carter in his monumental publication of the Harmony Book, with pitch material directly derived from a selection of 32 of Carter's all-interval 'symmetrical inverted' 12-note chords and 6-note chord no. 35 (D#, E, F, G, A# and B). The 'Fifteen Minutes of Fame: Water + Fire' theme is reflected within the melodically and harmonically homogeneous yet rhythmically and dynamically heterogeneous right and left hand piano figurations.

Work Details

Year: 2014

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 3 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Professional

Dedication note: Dedicated to Michael Kieran Harvey

Commission note: Composed for the Malaysian Composers Collective 2014 ‘Fifteen Minutes of Fame: Water + Fire’ project

The composer notes the following styles, subjects, genres etc. associated with this work:
The ‘butterfly effect’ and chaos theory; Indeterminacy; Probability Theory; Combinatoriality; True Random Number Generators (TRNGs); Elliott Carter's Harmony Book

Revised 2018.

Performances of this work

15 Apr 2018: at Melbourne Composers League Pathways (St Oswald's Anglican Church (Glen Iris)). Featuring Michael Kieran Harvey.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.