Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


L’architecture du cosmos : for pianoforte

by Andrián Pertout (2014)

L’architecture du cosmos


Add to cart


L’architecture du cosmos : for pianoforte / Andrián Pertout

Library shelf no. 786.2/PER 6 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

L'architecture du cosmos or 'The Architecture of the Cosmos' was commissioned by María Paz Santibañez (Paris, France), and especially composed as a Hommage à Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007). The work serves as an exploration of the musical implications of the Fibonacci series as an organizational determinant, and draws on inspiration from a selection of seminal works from the twentieth-century piano repertoire: Klaviertück IX (1961) by Karlheinz Stockhausen; Gaspard de la nuit: Trois poèmes pour piano d'après Aloysius Bertrand (1908), Jeux d'eau (1901) and Une barque sur l'océan, Miroirs (1904-1905) by Maurice Ravel (1875-1937); as well as A Morning in the Woods (1971), A Long Remembered Sorrow (1964) and Metaphor No. 3 (1964) by Leo Ornstein (1893-2002). It adopts the design of Karlheinz Stockhausen's cycle Klaviertücke, and in particular the duration units utilized in Klaviertück I: 1, 5, 3, 2, 4 and 6 (equal to the rotation 4, 6, 1, 5, 3 and 2), which - as Richard Toop points out in his 1983 'The Musical Times' article entitled Stockhausen's Other Piano Pieces - Stockhausen later used "to determine the number of constituent pieces in each set for his planned cycle of 21 Klavierstücke." Also incorporated in the fifth section of the work are two rhythmic sequences based on ouroborean rings for pairs and quadruplets (0111, 0100 and 1111, 0000, 1010, 0110). Recurring thematic material acts to unify, while alternation of adopted pitch material in conjunction with structural symmetry, distinct tempo relationships and canonic forms, as well as the continuous expansion and contraction of time utilizing contrasting levels of rhythmic density generate a sense of tension and release throughout the six distinct sections of the work.

Work Details

Year: 2014

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Professional

Dedication note: Hommage à Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007)

Commission note: Commissioned by Maria Paz Santibañez.

First performance: by Maria Paz Santibañez — 16 Mar 15. La Péniche Opéra, Paris, France

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc associated with this work:
Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007) ; Klaviertück IX (1961) ; Fibonacci series ;aurice Ravel (1875-1937) ; Leo Ornstein (1893-2002) ; Binary code

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.