Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


French Suite : for soprano and chamber ensemble

by Edward Primrose (1980)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

The work is loosely based on the French Suites of J.S.Bach.

Text is in French and comes from "L'homme approximatif" (Approximate Man) by the Dadaist poet Tristan Tzara.

In the first movement there is a link made between Tzara's ".. drawing a bitter substance from the past" with the iconic harmonic formulation for that other Tristan, from Wagner's Tristan & Isolde.

There are nine movements, each of which omits one of the nine performers except for the last movement which incorporates the full ensemble.

Work Details

Year: 1980

Instrumentation: Lyric soprano, flute/piccolo/alto flute, trombone, 3 guitars, viola/violin, cello, percussion.

Duration: 26 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Challenging vocal part.

Contents note: 1. Prelude -- 2. Allemande -- 3. Courante -- 4. Sarabande -- 5. Air -- 6. Minuet -- 7. Chaconne -- 8. Interlude -- 9. Gigue.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Don Banks

First performance: by Seymour Group, Rosemary Richards, Edward Primrose — 27 Aug 80. The Great Hall, Sydney University

Winner of the ASME Young Composers Award in 1980.

Revised 2020.


Performances of this work

27 Aug 80: The Great Hall, Sydney University. Featuring Seymour Group, Rosemary Richards, Edward Primrose.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.