Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Bagatelles : symphonic wind orchestra

by David Stanhope (2015)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (2 more)



Add to cart


Bagatelles : symphonic wind orchestra / David Stanhope.

Library shelf no. 784.83/STA 1 [Available for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (2 more)  

Work Overview

This work was written to demonstrate the versatility of the Concert Band, with a comparison available from the version for symphony orchestra. Both versions are equal in terms of viability as a composition for large instrumental forces. The nine movements are written largely in different styles and moods, with some humour, expressiveness and virtousity, especially in the last bagatelle "Whirlwind".

Work Details

Year: 2015

Instrumentation: Full Concert Band or Wind Orchestra: Piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, cor anglais, clarinets in B flat, contralto clarinet in E flat, bass clarinets in B flat, contra bass clarinet in B flat, bassoons, alto saxophones, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, trumpets in B flat, horns in F, trombones, euphoniums, tubas, timpani, percussion.

Duration: 30 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Virtuoso work with many solos

Contents note: 1st part: 1. Prelude -- 2. Little Fanfare -- 3. Serial Beethoven -- 4. Ludvig Wagner -- 5. Raising the Standard; 2nd part: 6. Prelude -- 7. Tchaikovsky -- 8. Introduction & Soliloquy -- 9. Whirlwind.

First performance: by Elder Conservatorium Wind Ensemble, Robert Hower at Bagatelles (Elder Hall) on 22 Aug 2015

Performances of this work

22 Aug 2015: at Bagatelles (Elder Hall). Featuring Elder Conservatorium Wind Ensemble, Robert Hower.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.