Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Bagatelles : for orchestra

by David Stanhope (2015)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (2 more)



This item is available for sale but is currently unable to be purchased online.
Please contact our Sales Department to place an order.


Bagatelles : for orchestra / David Stanhope.

Library shelf no. 784.2/STA 8 [Available for loan]


Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Display all products featuring this work (2 more)  

Work Overview

This work was written to demonstrate the versatility of the Concert Band, with a comparison available from the version for symphony orchestra. Both versions are equal in terms of viability as a composition for large instrumental forces. The nine movements are written largely in different styles and moods, with some humour, expressiveness and virtousity, especially in the last bagatelle "Whirlwind".

Work Details

Year: 2015

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets in B flat, bass clarinet in B flat, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in C, 2 trombones, bass trombone/tuba, percussion (3 players), strings.

Duration: 30 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Virtuosic work for all players

Contents note: 1st part: 1. Prelude -- 2. Little Fanfare -- 3. Serial Beethoven -- 4. Ludvig Wagner -- 5. Raising the Standard; 2nd part: 6. Prelude -- 7. Tchaikovsky -- 8. Introduction & Soliloquy -- 9. Whirlwind

Performances of this work

22 Aug 2015: at Bagatelles (Elder Hall). Featuring Elder Conservatorium Wind Ensemble, Robert Hower.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.