Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Paul Lowin Prize 2001

2001 Winners

The 2001 Paul Lowin Prize ceremony, hosted by Radio National’s Alan Saunders, was held at Customs house, Sydney on 22 October 2001. The following prizes were awarded and highly commended works announced:

Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize ($25,000)

Nigel Butterley for his Spell of Creation

This piece, 45 minutes long, was premiered in Sydney, 9 June 2001, by Anke Hoppner (soprano), Teddy Tahu Rhodes (baritone), Sydney Philharmonia Choirs and Orchestra and Cantillation Choir.

'This major work, Spell of Creation, represents a very significant contribution to the orchestral and choral repertoire. It employs an emotional and richly layered text, while the writing for extensive orchestral, choral and solo vocal forces shows great skill, restraint and sincerity. The selection panel congratulates this composer on a fine work – the effect of which builds consistently throughout towards a conclusion of genuine power.'

Paul Lowin Song Cycle Prize ($15,000)

Brett Dean for Winter Songs

This piece, 26 minutes long, was premiered in Berlin, 30 January 2001 by Scott Weir (tenor) and the Philharmonic Wind Qunitet, Berlin.

'... a powerful and passionate work. It begins as a highly virtuosic wind quintet with intermittent tenor obbligato, and evolves into a song cycle in which the voice is admirably welded with the instruments. Every technical aspect is excellently handled – the musical invention is striking, each instrument is clearly characterised, and even in the most complex passages, everything is perfectly audible.'


2001 Highly Commended

Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize ($25,000)

Brett Dean for Pastoral Symphony

Premiered in Paris, 9 February 2001 by Ensemble Modern, conducted by Stefan Asbury.

Gerard Brophy for Yo Yai Pakebi, Man Mai Yapobi

Premiered in Utrecht, 13 January 2000 by Anumadutchi & Het Residentie Orkest, conducted by Hans Leenders.

Paul Lowin Song Cycle Prize ($15,000)

Jennifer Fowler for Eat and Be Eaten

Premiered in Sydney, 6 June 2001 by Marshall McGuire and The Song Company, conducted by Roland Peelman.