Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Paul Lowin Prizes

2019 Paul Lowin Prizes

Perpetual and the Australian Music Centre (AMC) are pleased to announce the details of the 2019 Paul Lowin Prizes ceremony, to be organised in conjunction with the 2019 Peggy Glanville-Hicks Address at the Primrose Potter Salon, Melbourne Recital Centre, on 22 October 2019. Free tickets to the event will made be available at the beginning of October.

This historic occasion will bring together two important events in Australian art music. The Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize ($25,000) and Song Cycle Prize ($15,000) are among Australia’s richest prizes for music composition. The prestigious Peggy Glanville-Hicks Address has been igniting debate and highlighting crucial issues since its establishment in 1999.

The works shortlisted for the 2019 Paul Lowin Prizes will be made public in early October. Last offered in 2016, the Paul Lowin Prizes are managed by Perpetual, as trustee for the Paul Lowin Trust, and presented in collaboration with the Australian Music Centre. Among the most significant composition prizes in Australia, the Paul Lowin Prizes were held for the first time in 1991. Since 1999 the Prizes have been presented every 2-3 years. Nominations for these Prizes are accepted from anyone, including composers, publishers and the general public.

The 2019 Peggy Glanville-Hicks Address will be delivered by Deborah Cheetham AO: Yorta Yorta woman, soprano, composer and educator, and a leader in the Australian arts landscape for more than 25 years.

AMC CEO John Davis said,

”In 2019, we’re fortunate to be able to bring together these two crucially important events of the Australian art music calendar, in a celebration of our vibrant and multifaceted art form. The submissions to this year’s Paul Lowin Prizes reflect the multitude of styles in composition and artistic expression that is one of the main hallmarks of Australian art music today.

“The list of people who have delivered the Peggy Glanville-Hicks Address over the years is similarly proof of a strong trend towards diversity and true freedom of artistic expression. We are honoured to have Deborah Cheetham AO, an important art leader and one of our strongest compositional voices to have emerged over the past few years, deliver the 2019 Peggy Glanville-Hicks Address on 22 October.”


> 2019 Paul Lowin Prize guidelines


History of the Paul Lowin Prizes

After immigrating to Australia in 1939, Czechoslovakian Paul Lowin worked as a wholesale dealer of cloth and dry goods, establishing the Swedish Handweaving Co. on George Street. Although a successful businessman, his work was never a main preoccupation. Mrs L Krips, a neighbour often visited by Lowin, wrote 'We never found out what he was doing for a living, as nothing seemed to him important enough to talk about if he could talk about music'.

Lowin's passion for music was manifest in the hand-written will found when, shortly after returning to Vienna in 1959, Lowin died of a heart attack. The will outlined his dream of encouraging excellence in music composition and his wish to establish a competition for works by living Australian composers.

It took thirty years for an appropriate scheme to be approved by the Chief Justice of NSW but eventually, in 1990, one of Australia's richest prizes for music composition was established. The competition was initially held every three years, but in 1995 further changes by the court enabled the competition to be held every two or three years.

Since the first prizes in 1991, over $440,000 has been awarded. Since 1999, the prizes have been presented in collaboration with Perpetual Trustee Company Limited as trustee for The Paul Lowin Trust and the Australian Music Centre.


Winners of the Paul Lowin Prizes 1991-2016

> View a chronological list of all winners of the Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize.

> View a list of all winners of the Paul Lowin Song Cycle Prize.





Recent Awards

2016 Paul Lowin Prizes

The winners of 2016 Paul Lowin Prizes were announced on 6 December 2016 at APRA AMCOS building in Sydney.

2013 Paul Lowin Prizes

The winners of 2013 Paul Lowin Prizes were announced on 28 October 2013 at APRA headquarters in Sydney.

2009 Paul Lowin Prizes

The winners of the 2009 Paul Lowin Prizes were announced on 30 October 2009 at the Utzon Room, Sydney Opera House.

2006 Paul Lowin Prizes

The winners of the 2006 Paul Lowin Prizes were announced on October 5 at a special ceremony at The Mint, Sydney.

2004 Paul Lowin Prizes

The 2004 Paul Lowin Prize ceremony was held at Government House, Sydney on 3 November 2004.

2001 Paul Lowin Prizes

The 2001 Paul Lowin Prize ceremony, hosted by Radio National’s Alan Saunders, was held at Customs house, Sydney on 22 October 2001.

1999 Paul Lowin Prizes

The winners of the 1999 Paul Lowin Prizes were announced at the Australian Music Centre Awards, at the Sydney Opera House, on 20 September 1999.