Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Paul Lowin Prize 2013

2013 Paul Lowin Prize - winners

Elliott Gyger and Nigel Westlake with their award certificates

The winners of 2013 Paul Lowin Prizes were announced on Monday evening 28 October in a special ceremony at APRA headquarters in Sydney. Nigel Westlake won the Orchestral Prize ($25,000) with his powerful Missa Solis - Requiem for Eli (2010) for symphony orchestra, chorus and male treble solo. Elliott Gyger’s winning work in the Song Cycle Prize ($15,000) category was giving voice (2012), a cycle of eight songs for mezzo-soprano and ensemble, based on Australian female poets’ words about early childhood and parenthood.

The judges in 2013 were Nigel Butterley, Brett Kelly and Peter McCallum in the Orchestral category, and John McCaughey, Roland Peelman and Sally Whitwell in the Song Cycle category. Both panels were chaired by Gwen Bennett. 'Paul Lowin's generosity and foresight in establishing a trust in perpetuity will continue to encourage musical composition in Australia - ensuring Australian composers give expression to Paul's passion for generations to come. I would also like to express my appreciation to the judges who undertake the extremely difficult task of assessing the many applications. Without their efforts these awards would not be possible', stated Andrew Baker, State Manager NSW & ACT for Perpetual Private.

The 2013 Paul Lowin Prizes attracted the highest-ever number of entries in both categories, with 55 entries for the Orchestral category, and 48 for the Song Cycle category. The judging panels found the overall standard of works extremely high. In addition to Westlake’s work, finalists for the Orchestral Prize included works by Brett Dean, Andrew Ford and Mark Isaacs. The Song Cycle Prize finalists were Elliott Gyger, Ross Edwards and Andrew Ford.

Image: Elliott Gyger and Nigel Westlake. Photo © Matt Barber/APRA

Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize - winners and finalists

Winner ($25,000)

Nigel Westlake: Missa Solis - Requiem for Eli (2010) for symphony orchestra, SATB chorus and male treble solo


Brett Dean: The Last Days of Socrates (2012) for bass-baritone, SATB chorus and orchestra; Andrew Ford: Blitz (2011) for full orchestra with prerecorded sound; Mark Isaacs: Invocations (2011) for cello and orchestra

Paul Lowin Song Cycle Prize - winners and finalists

Winner ($15,000)

Elliott Gyger: giving voice (2012) for mezzo-soprano and ensemble


Ross Edwards: Five Senses - five poems of Judith Wright (2012) for soprano and piano; Andrew Ford: Willow Songs - six poems of Anne Stevenson (2009) for soprano, mezzo-soprano, alto flute/piccolo, clarinet in A/bass clarinet, percussion, piano.

Perpetual logo with text Funded by the Paul Lowin Trust, managed by Perpetual