Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

14 October 2013

Paul Lowin Prizes 2013 - finalists announced

Paul Lowin Prizes 2013 - finalists announced

The shortlisted composers and works for the 2013 Paul Lowin Prizes have been announced. Works by Brett Dean, Ross Edwards, Andrew Ford, Elliott Gyger, Mark Isaacs and Nigel Westlake are competing for the Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize ($25,000) and the Song Cycle Prize ($15,000). The winners will be announced in a special ceremony in Sydney on Monday 28 October.

The 2013 prizes attracted the highest number of entries in the history of these prizes, with 55 entries for the Orchestral category, and 48 for the Song Cycle category. The judging panels found the overall standard of works extremely high in both categories.

Shortlist - Orchestral Prize

Brett Dean: The Last Days of Socrates (2012) for bass-baritone, SATB chorus and orchestra
Andrew Ford: Blitz (2011) for full orchestra with pre-recorded sound
Mark Isaacs: Invocations (2011) for cello and orchestra
Nigel Westlake: Missa Solis - Requiem for Eli (2010) for symphony orchestra, SATB chorus and male treble solo

Shortlist - the Song Cycle Prize

Ross Edwards: Five Senses - five poems of Judith Wright (2012) for soprano and piano
Andrew Ford: Willow Songs - six poems of Anne Stevenson (2009) for soprano, mezzo-soprano, alto flute/piccolo, clarinet in A/bass clarinet, percussion, piano.
Elliott Gyger: giving voice (2012) for mezzo-soprano and ensemble

The Orchestral Prize is awarded for a work for modern chamber or symphony orchestra that has at least 30 players and 15 independent lines. The Song Cycle Prize is awarded to a work suitable for chamber performance, using no more than eight independent vocal lines, accompanied by up to 10 instrumental players.

The list of previous recipients includes composers Nigel Butterley, Rosalind Page, Liza Lim, Andrew Ford, Brett Dean, Raffaele Marcellino, Mary Finsterer, Andrew Schultz, and Michael Smetanin. The Prizes are held every two to three years and are judged by a panel of leading composers, performers, artistic directors and musicologists.

AMC resources

Paul Lowin Prizes - more information and previous winners


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.