Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Joseph Franklin : Associate Artist

Photo of Joseph Franklin

Photo: Shannon May Powell

Joseph Franklin is a composer and bassist from regional Australia. His practice spans notated, improvised, and experimental music, film scores, cross-disciplinary works, orchestration, sound art, and instrument design.

Joseph has composed for various ensembles, including the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Australian Youth Orchestra, Flinders Quartet, Geist Quartet, and The Music Box Project. In 2022, he composed the contemporary ballet Storm Approaching Wangi and Other Desires.

Joseph is a member of the new music ensemble The Music Box Project, a co-founder of The Opera Company, and has ongoing collaborations with Duré Dara, Lamine Sonko, and Satoshi Takeishi. He has released three albums as bandleader and performed in the USA, Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, France, Turkey, and Australia.

Joseph's work has been recognised by national awards, including a 2021 Freedman Jazz Fellowship finalist nomination, a 2020 Art Music Award for 'Excellence in Experimental Music,' where he was also a finalist in 'Performance of the Year (Jazz/Improvisation),' a Marten Bequest Scholarship, and several grants from the Australia Council for the Arts and other funding bodies for local and international projects.

Notable residencies and intensives include Critical Path (2023), Darmstadt Ferienkurse (2021), All That We Are (2020), a three-week intensive with Prof. Mark Applebaum at Stanford University (2019), Bundanon (2019), the Australian Art Orchestra Creative Music Intensive (2018), IRCAM Manifeste! (2017), Time of Music Festival (2017) in Finland, and the Australian Youth Orchestra Summer Music Program (2017).

In early 2024, Joseph's debut solo album, a thousand tiny mutinies, will be released via Nice Music. He will also compose several works for the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra as part of the Australian Composer's School 2024/25 program.

Joseph Franklin — current to November 2023

Selected Commissions

  Work Commission Details
Digital sheet music sample WATER. RUINS. EVERYTHING. : (or, the quaking zone) (2023) supporting partner; TarraWarra Estate.
Digital sheet music sample you are meadow : for orchestra (2022) Commissioned by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra for the 2022 Cybec 21st Century Australian Composers Program
Digital sheet music sample (A)Biotic Forces : for solo prepared guitar (2021) Commissioned for the Guitar Perspectives Composition Award. With thanks to Peter and Rasika Crowley for their generous support of this award.
Digital sheet music sample Jouska : A Psychodrama in Three Acts (2019) Commissioned for the Bendigo Festival of Exploratory Music