Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Into the outer : for 13 solo strings

by Annie Hsieh (2014)

Into the outer


Add to cart


Into the outer : for 13 solo strings / Annie Hsieh.

Library shelf no. 784.7/HSI 1 [Available for loan]

Into the outer

Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

The original fascination that inspired Into the Outer was an exploration of notions of push and pull. Associating specific musical material with members and sections of the ensemble, I sought to create a landscape in which to explore the interplay between give and take, will and force, expansion versus contraction, and above all, propagation versus consumption.

A player possesses his/her material, and therefore is endowed with some sense of agency in the piece. Their material can propagate into the surrounding ensemble. This can be viewed both positively, as an exertion of influence, and negatively, as consumption and a loss of identity.

These ideas are manifest in the division of the ensemble into an inner string quartet and an outer nonet. Additionally, for every member of the string quartet, there is a quadrant, including the spatially corresponding members of the outer ensemble.

The string quartet is the heart of the system, a seed whose material propagates throughout the orchestra. It is tender and fragile, yet selfcontained, content, and self-governing. As the piece progresses, this core gets extracted, borrowed, one-by-one, by their corresponding outer subsets. Its ideas and behaviour gradually submits, infiltrates into the mass, giving the noise-based larger force the 'nutrition' to grow and develop through this process of infusion.

Work Details

Year: 2014

Instrumentation: Violin (8 players), viola (2 players), cello (2 players), double bass (1 player).

Duration: 11 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — extended techniques

Commission note: Commissioned by Timothy Phillips for performance by Arcko Symphonic Ensemble.

First performance: by Arcko Symphonic Ensemble — 26 Jul 14. Richmond Uniting Church, Melbourne


Resonate article: Works by Hsieh & Stanhope at ISCM World Music Days 2016 by Australian Music Centre


Into the outer

Performances of this work

7 Sep 2018: at BIFEM18: Tranquil Abiding (Ulumbarra Theatre). Featuring Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, Eric Dudley.

16 Jul 2016: at Arcko Symphonic: Into the Outer (Church of All Nations). Featuring Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Timothy Phillips.

26 Jul 14: Richmond Uniting Church, Melbourne. Featuring Arcko Symphonic Ensemble.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.