Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Everything I Touch : for Flute & Chamber Orchestra

by Margery Smith (2019)

Work Overview

The haiku and micro poetry by Kobayashi Issa and Susan Sleepwriter inspire Everything I Touch. Kobayashi Issa was a 19th century Japanese poet and lay Buddhist priest known for his haiku poems and journals. He is better known as simply Issa, a pen name meaning Cup-of-tea. Susan Sleepwriter is a Sydney-based poet who loves words used concisely; words that paint a scene, that leave behind the scent of emotion, that expose the human struggle.
All of this inspiration for a composer!
The very essence of music is its quality of 'being in the moment' yet a physical score is a blueprint for the past, present and the future. Issa's haiku and Sleepwriters' micropoetry are simply about what is happening in this place at this moment.
The listeners are invited to form their own experience of the poems through
the medium of sound.

Work Details

Year: 2019

Instrumentation: Solo flute, oboe, clarinet in B flat, tenor saxophone or bassoon, trumpet in B flat, horn in F, piano, strings.

Duration: 25 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Virtuosic writing for flute

Contents note: I. Everything I touch -- II. Summer night -- III. Out the train window -- IV. That wren.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Wendy Ireland

Commission note: Commissioned by Andrew Kennedy for Hourglass Ensemble

First performance: by Ewa Kowalski, Hourglass Ensemble at Everything I Touch (St Columba Uniting Church (Woollahra)) on 28 Apr 2019

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc associated with this work:
Haiku poetry, society & culture, birds


Performances of this work

4 May 2019: at 'Everything I Touch' Concerto for Flute and Chamber Orchestra (Sydney Opera House, Utzon Room). Featuring Ewa Kowalski, Hourglass Ensemble.

28 Apr 2019: at Everything I Touch (St Columba Uniting Church (Woollahra)). Featuring Ewa Kowalski, Hourglass Ensemble.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.