Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String Quartet No. 2 : string quartet

by John Spence (1991)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

String Quartet No. 2 was inspired by the growing revival of early music performances that were emerging from Europe during the late 1980s and '90s. Initially it was concieved as a work to be performed with a consort of viols but the idea was abandoned due to the complexity of the parts. However, renaissance music was an important inspiration for the composition.

Work Details

Year: 1991

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 19 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. Adagio - Allegro - Adagio -- 2. Fantasy and Fugue -- 3. Interlude -- 4. Reflections on a Hymn Tune.

Movement 4 (Reflections on a Hymn Tune):
Hymn tune: Bethany 1857, by Henry Thomas Smart (1813-1879) ; harmonisation by John Spence

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.