Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

MOMENTUM Commissions

In 2020, the Australian Music Centre announced a new commissioning initiative: MOMENTUM.

MOMENTUM sought to connect artists with the generous support of private philanthropists for professional opportunities to create new musical work. Since its inception, MOMENTUM has commissioned new works by Australian composers: Rae Howell, Zinia Chan, Anne Cawrse, Nicole Murphy, Elizabeth Younan, Connor D'Netto, Maria Grenfell, Reuben Lewis, and Helen Svoboda.

With MOMENTUM we aim to foster connections between supporters and creators of Australian art music and provide a creative platform for composers and sounds artists at all stages of their career. The work of creating art is essential, and the MOMENTUM Commissions seek to provide the financial stimulation artists need to flourish in their creative work.

The MOMENTUM Commissions: Call for applications open

The MOMENTUM Commissions seeks two artists to create new works, with each commission valued at AU$4,000.

The works will be 5-7 minutes in duration and may be written for either:

  • solo piano,
  • solo clarinet, or
  • a small ensemble of up to three players, with either piano or clarinet as the solo instrument.
  • The works must be a reflective expression of a theme that is personally significant to the creator.

    As part of this commission, the new works will be given a performance presentation in Melbourne in late 2024. Commissioned creators will be offered support for inter-state travel to attend the performance and will be presented with an audio recording of the performance of their work. 

    The Australian Music Centre gratefully acknowledges the generous support of Hendrik Prins for this commission.


    Applicants must either be a current AMC member (join online here) or an AMC represented artist.

    We encourage composers at any stage of their career to apply, including emerging and underrepresented artists.

    First Nations composers, gender diverse composers, and culturally diverse composers are strongly encouraged to apply.

    > Download full Commission guidelines here

    Key dates

  • Applications close Monday 5 February 2024
  • Results will be announced by Monday 11 March 2024
  • Commissioned works must be completed by August 2024
  • Performance presentation: September/October 2024 (TBC)
  • Submit your application here


    Read about the latest recipients of the MOMENTUM Commissions

    For creators

    Subscribe to our eNews to be among the first to hear about new commission opportunities.

    For supporters

    If you are interested in supporting the commissioning of new Australian music, please contact us on info@australianmusiccentre.com.au to discuss further.