Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Acragas : for orchestra

by Edward Primrose (2013)



Add to cart


Acragas : for orchestra / Edward Primrose.

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/PRI 2 [Available for loan]


Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

Acragas is the ancient name for the city of Agrigentum in Sicily, and was the birthplace of Empedocles in 492 BCE. However, the title is only made in honour of the real person and there is no attempt to link the music with anything Greek or Sicilian. Acragas is suite of material that was originally conceived as a part of The Wife of Empedocles project.

The first part is a very slow lamentation and sprang out of reflections on the life of Empedocles preceding his time in Athens.
The second part was designated the Air Fugue in consideration of Empedocles empirical experiments with which it is said that he was able to theorise on the existence and nature of 'air'.

Work Details

Year: 2013

Instrumentation: Flute, oboe, cor anglais, 2 clarinets (Bb and A), bass clarinet (Bb), 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns (F), 2 trumpets (Bb), 2 trombones, tuba, percussion, harp, strings.

Duration: 9 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Woodwind, brass, percussion and harp are simple. String parts very difficult in the fugue section

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.