Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Australia Ensemble @ UNSW


Australia Ensemble @ UNSW

  • Date: Saturday, 12 September 2009, 8pm
  • Venue: Sir John Clancy Auditorium — University of New South Wales, Gate 9, High Street, Kensington, NSW
  • Tickets: Adults: $43 Concession: $22 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 9385 4874

Event Details

After the Australia Ensemble’s performance in 2008 of Eugene Goossens’s holiday impressions, which used with outstanding skill and freshness the then new vocabularies of Debussy and Ravel, it seemed only right to turn to another Goossens work from the same eve-of-World War I period, his Suite for flute, violin and harp, for more pleasures of a deft and welcoming kind. Toru Takemitsu, a distinguished Japanese composer of a different generation, shares with Goossens an abiding love of Debussy’s style and aesthetic and combines it, in his Quatrain II, with an ultra-sensitive skill in using timbre owing much to his own national traditions. The Ensemble’s resident pianist, Ian Munro, another devotee of French music, has become increasingly familiar to his audiences in the last few years as a composer and arranger, notably in his Divertissement sur le nom d’Erik Satie in the 2007 Saturday night series, and will compose a new piece for Ensemble members in this program. Beethoven’s String Quartet in E minor, the second quartet of the Rasumovsky set and one of the greatest works of European chamber music, ends the concert.

Featured non-Australian music: Takemitsu, Beethoven

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website or by phone on (02) 9385 4874 or by email to australia.ensemble@unsw.edu.au

Featured Australian Works

A little song of love : clarinet with string quartet by Peter Sculthorpe — World premiere
— performed by Australia Ensemble
Beauty : for solo cello with chamber ensemble of 6 players (2009) by Matthew Hindson — World premiere
— performed by Australia Ensemble and Julian Smiles
Birthday miniature : chamber ensemble by Elena Kats-Chernin — World premiere
— performed by Australia Ensemble
Intervention : for clarinet in B flat and cello (2009) by Martin Wesley-Smith — World premiere
— performed by Julian Smiles and Catherine McCorkill
Les Darcy dances (septets: flute, clarinet, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello) by Raffæle Marcellino — World premiere
— performed by Australia Ensemble
On winter's traces (septet: piccolo, bass clarinet, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello) (2009) by Andrew Ford — World premiere
— performed by Australia Ensemble
Retrospective : for alto flute and piano (2009) by Ross Edwards — World premiere
— performed by Geoffrey Collins and Ian Munro
Suite, Op. 6 : chamber ensemble (1914) by Eugene Goossens
— performed by Australia Ensemble

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login