Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Ajean : trio for violin, violoncello and harp

by Paul Sarcich (2004)

Work Overview

Ajean is a trio for violin, cello and harp written as a homage to Jean Sibelius, whose music I find an inexhaustible source of fascination. I don't think it possible that one could ever reach a point where one could say "I know Sibelius": his works are capable of infinite relistening, and each relistening throws up more questions, opens more doors, requires further listening. As clear as they may appear on one occasion, on another they come across as hugely mysterious.

The start material for Ajean comes from two bars of the introductory section of his Violin Concerto, one of the most unique in the repertoire. This material is developed through a double harmonic cycle, throwing up "variations" of great variety and secondary constructions along the way.

Work Details

Year: 2004

Instrumentation: Violin, cello, harp.

Duration: 16 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Advanced student/professional


Program note: Paul Sarcich's "Ajean"
program note by the composer

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.