Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Quartet (quartets: flute, percussion, piano, viola)

by Bozidar Kos (1980)

Work Overview

Micro-tonal deviations of pitch, additive rhythms, asymmetrical metric groupings and almost obsessive use of small melodic cells, based on various types of tetrachords, are some of the characteristics of many South-East European , Middle-East and North African countries.

It is this kind of musical material that appears in the QUARTET, not as quotations or thematic material but as the basic compositional elements, integrated together with other material into the work.

Work Details

Year: 1980

Instrumentation: Flute, viola, piano, percussion (marimba, xylophone, glockenspiel, timpani, 6 roto-toms, slit drum, 5 temple blocks, 3 wood blocks, cowbell, tam-tam, Chinese cymbal, 3 cymbals, glass chimes, tarabuka).

Duration: 15 min.

Commission note: Commissioned by Ryszard Pusz with funds provided by Australia Council. Music Board.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.