Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Extended Play


Extended Play

  • Date: Saturday, 31 August 2019, 12 noon to midnight
  • Venue: City Recital Hall — 2 Angel Place, Sydney, NSW
  • Tickets: Standard: $35 — Tickets can be purchased online or by phone on (02) 8256 2222

Event Details

Extended Play is back in 2019! The inaugural event last year was hailed as “the best new classical music initiative Sydney has seen in years” (The Australian), and an “exhilarating festival, wonderfully supportive of local artists and ensembles, emerging talent and an audience eager to engage.” (Real Time). 

City Recital Hall and Lyle Chan have joined forces to create a spectacular program jam-packed with 12 hours of eclectic, contemporary, challenging and dynamic new music across the entire four floors of the venue. We are thrilled to present Margaret Leng Tan, the foremost performer of new piano music and the world's first toy piano virtuoso, for her Sydney debut, performing a brand new work of George Crumb.

The stellar line up of soloists, duos and ensembles includes artists from across Australia and internationally: Synergy, Sonya Lifschitz and Christine Johnston, Decibel, Halcyon, Australian Voices, Zephyr Quartet, and Vicky Chow, who will delve into an epic piano piece that may be one of the most physically demanding works seen on our stage. This is to name but a few – there are over 20 performances in 12 hours!

If you missed out on Extended Play last year, this is your chance to be part of something truly special in the Sydney music scene; and if you have been before, you know you can’t possibly resist coming back.

Featured non-Australian music: Andriessen, Reich

Further information for this event is available online at the event's website

Featured Australian Works

Digital sheet music sample Action music 2 : flexible instrumentation (2017) by Erik Griswold
— performed by UNSW New Music Collective
Antarctica (unspecified choir with pre-recorded sound) by Gordon Hamilton
— performed by The Australian Voices and Gordon Hamilton
Cockatoos : string quartet by Hilary Kleinig
— performed by Zephyr Quartet
Cries and whispers : SATB choir by Stephen Leek
— performed by The Australian Voices and Gordon Hamilton
Deserts of exile : SATB choir (2007) by Paul Stanhope
— performed by Australian Virtuosi and Gordon Hamilton
Facing the danger : flexible instrumentation (1982) by Vincent Plush
— performed by UNSW New Music Collective
For those who've come across the seas : string quartet by Hilary Kleinig
— performed by Zephyr Quartet
General, what about if theā€¦ by Robert Davidson
— performed by UNSW New Music Collective
Digital sheet music sample Go Seigen vs. Fujisawa Kuranosuke (septets: piano, percussion, guitar, 2 violins, viola, cello) (2015) by Chris Perren
— performed by Nonsemble
Digital sheet music sample Hive (trios: clarinet, piano, viola with pre-recorded sound) (2016) by Peggy Polias
— performed by The Nano Symphony
I lost a world the other day : for mezzo-soprano and cello (2014) by Moya Henderson
— performed by Halcyon
Insect songs (mezzo-soprano with guitar) (1998) by Matthew Hindson
— performed by Halcyon
Intercurrent : for bass clarinet, marimba, piano and tape (2016) by Lachlan Skipworth
— performed by Ashley William Smith, Emily Green-Armytage, Louise Devenish and Lachlan Skipworth
Kazoku (vocal music) by Cathy Milliken — World premiere
— performed by Halcyon
Maninya I : soprano voice with accompaniment by Ross Edwards
— performed by Halcyon
Not now, not ever : for recorded Julia Gillard speech and chorus (2014) by Robert Davidson
— performed by UNSW New Music Collective
Old MacDonald's yellow submarine : for toy piano, prepared piano and assorted bits (2004) by Erik Griswold
— performed by Margaret Leng Tan
Samurai Loops : chamber ensemble by Chris Perren
— performed by Nonsemble
The art of agony (Percy Grainger) : version for two pianos (2012) by Robert Davidson
— performed by UNSW New Music Collective
The Art of Disappearing (mezzo-soprano with string quartet) (2019) by Cameron Lam
— performed by Jenny Duck-Chong
The four seasons : (after Cy Twombly) (2009) by Liza Lim
— performed by Alexander Waite
The Milk Carton Confessions : percussion by Michael Sollis — World premiere
— performed by Thea Rossen
Digital sheet music sample Three haiku : for mezzo soprano & violoncello (1987) by Julian Yu
— performed by Halcyon
 FEED by Nat Grant
 Femme Fatale Suite by Belinda Gehlert
 Intimate Distance by Olivia Davies
 Late Day by Emily Tulloch
 Time's Timeless Art by Jason Thomas

Featured artists

User reviews & comments

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions or insights about this event.

To post your comment please login