Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Myanmar : 3 pieces for violin and piano

by May Howlett (2007)



Add to cart

Score & Part

Myanmar : 3 pieces for violin and piano / May Howlett.

Library shelf no. 787.2/HOW 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Loosely referential throughout to Asian modes and instruments, the first movement reflects the peaceful mood of Bagan, the old capital of Cambodia while 3, the Secret River, evokes the tide of change bubbling beneath 2, Perdu, an elegy for the suffering and loss endured under militaristic regimes.

Work Details

Year: 2007

Instrumentation: Violin, piano.

Duration: 8 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — double stopping, often fast-moving, with a variety of precise articulations

Contents note: Bagan -- Perdu -- Secret river.

Dedication note: A homage to Aung San Suu Kyi An inspiring leader-in-waiting who led, with dignity and restraint, a peaceful protest against dictatorship whilst under house arrest.

First performance: by Victoria Jacona — 22 Jun 08. Chronology Arts initial concert, Australia Hall, Elizabeth Street, Sydney

In writing this, as in my Cathedrals of Flame, and in Epilogue (a work in progress) I was driven by specific feelings - in this case, of admiration for the courage of someone who demonstrates that peaceful protest can transcend force. Conveying the feelings engendered by my study of the subject was my goal. This may be seen as a negative, irrelevant to the act of composition, but thse feeling gave a particular energy and shape to the writing; the audience seemed to pick up on it and were, in turn, energised.


Performances of this work

22 Jun 08: Chronology Arts initial concert, Australia Hall, Elizabeth Street, Sydney. Featuring Victoria Jacona.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.